City of Ely Councillors

East Ward

Elisabeth Every

Elisabeth Every

Lis became a Councillor on the City of Ely Council nearly five years ago and was elected Mayor and Chair of the Council for 2014/2015 and 2015/2016.  She is also an elected member of the East Cambridgeshire District Council, whilst remaining a director of a local company.

Read More

Richard Hobbs Photo

Richard Hobbs

Richard is a third generation City Councillor and was first elected in 1993, serving Ely West Ward.  Richard now represents Ely East, both as a City and District Councillor having also served on the District Council since 1997.

Read More

Dian Warman Photo

Dian Warman

Dian has lived in Ely since 2003 and was elected to the Council in 2015. She is passionate that local residents views should be listened to and the improvement of local transport.

Read More

West Ward

Sue Austen Photo

Sue Austen

Sue Austen was elected onto the Council in May 2015 and represents the West Ward.  She was elected as Deputy Mayor for 2019/2020 and is an ex-officio member of all Committee’s apart from the Tourism & Town Centre Committee.

Read More

Alan Arnold

Arnie Arnold

Cllr Arnold has lived in the local area all of his life, moving to Ely 18 years ago.

Read More

Christine Whelan Photo

Christine Whelan

Christine has lived in the district since 2000 when she moved here with her partner shortly before their daughter was born.  Christine was elected to the Council in May 2015 and serves on the Recreation & Cemetery Committee and the Youth Forum.

Read More

South Ward

Mal Lansell Photo

Mal Lansell

Mal was elected in 2015 as a councillor for Ely South Ward.  He sits on the Christmas Lights committee, and the CCTV and Transport working groups.

Read More

Ian Lindsay Photo

Ian Lindsay

Ian has been on the City Council since May 2014 and was elected as Chair to the Council and Mayor of the City of Ely 2016/2017 at the Annual Council Meeting, 16th May 2016.  In the latter capacity he sits on all of the Council’s committees.

Read More

Christopher Philips Photo

Christopher Philips

Chris Phillips joined the Council in 2013 and in May 2015 was elected as one of the representatives for Ely South ward.

Read More

North Ward

Alison Arnold Photo

Alison Arnold

Alison joined the Council in 2011 by co-option and retained her seat in the May 2015 elections uncontested.  She is a North Ward Councillor.

Read More

Peter Moakes Photo

Peter Moakes

Peter came to Ely 14 years ago, has served two terms on the District Council, and was deputy leader and leader during that time

Read More

Michael Rouse Photo

Michael Rouse

Michael Rouse was born in Ely and is the longest serving member of the council having first been elected when the City Council was formed in 1974.  He served as Mayor from 1976-77.

Read More

Alison Whelan Photo

Alison Whelan

Alison moved to the district in 2000 from Norwich.  She lives with her partner and has 3 children, one of school age who goes to school locally.

Read More

City Of Ely Logo small

Cllr Vacancy

Cllr information will be added.

Read More

Ely Session House photo

Councillor Vacancy

A decision as to whether this vacancy will be filled prior to the Parish Council elections of May 2019 will be decided at the next Full Council meeting on 11th February 2019.  For further information, please contact the Clerk to the Council on

Read More